Temporary Storage Assignments

This help file applies to an out-of-date version of MainBoss.
The most recent version of MainBoss is MainBoss 4.2.2.
For the latest version of this help file can be found here.

< Previous section  |  Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Next section >

In a work order, a temporary storage assignment specifies an item that will be stored in a temporary storage location associated with the work order. Typically, you specify the temporary storage location first (as described in Temporary Storage Locations) and then you specify the item(s) to be kept in that location.

There are several ways to create a temporary storage assignment:

In all of the above cases, MainBoss opens a window that contains the following:

Details section: Shows basic information for the record.

Work Order: A read-only field giving the work order associated with this temporary storage assignment.

Item: The item that will be stored in the temporary storage location.

Location: A temporary storage location associated with this work order.

Item Price: A price or price quote on the item. Typically, this is used to indicate the vendor from whom you prefer to purchase the item. For more on item pricing, see Item Pricing.

Read-only fields: Information on quantities of the specified item which are already in the given location.

Cost Center (only visible if your database has an Accounting license key): The cost center to be used for any costs associated with holding this item at this location. For more on cost centers, see Cost Centers.

Item Activity section: Information about changes in the item at this location. For example, you could use entries in the activity section to record the transfer of items to and from the temporary storage location.

New Item Adjustment: Adds or subtracts a quantity of the given item from the temporary storage location. For more, see Making Item Adjustments.

New Item Issue: Issues a quantity of the given item from the temporary storage location. For more, see Issuing Items. This button contains the following in its drop-down list:

New Item Transfer To: Transfers this type of item from this temporary storage to some other location. For more, see Transferring Items from One Storeroom to Another.

New Item Transfer From: Transfers this type of item from some other location to this temporary storage. For more, see Transferring Items from One Storeroom to Another.

New Receive Item (with PO): Records the receipt of an item that appears on a purchase order. For more information, see Receiving Purchase Order Items.

New Receive Item: Opens a window where you can record the receipt of this type of item into inventory. This window is described in Receiving Items.

A typical scenario is when you use petty cash to buy items for use on a job (e.g. paint, glue, tape, etc.). In order to track all your maintenance expenses, you should record the purchase as part of the work order.

Correct: Makes a correction to an existing entry.

Edit: This drop-down button offers several possible actions:

Edit: Opens an editor window to let you edit the selected record.

View: Opens an editor window where you can examine the selected record.

Search: Lets you search through the list of records for a particular record. For more information, see Searching for a Particular Record. The Search button has an accompanying drop-down list containing the following:

Find Next: Uses the same search condition(s) as your most recent search and finds the next record in the table that matches the condition(s). If the search reaches the end of the table without finding a matching record, it goes to the start of the table and continues the search.

Find Previous: Same as Find Next except that it goes backward in the table. If the search reaches the start of the table without finding a matching record, it goes to the end of the table and continues the search.

Refresh: Updates the list to reflect recent changes.

Save: Saves the current record. The editor window stays open in case you want to make more changes to the same record.

Save & New: Saves the current record and sets up the window for you to enter a new record. Fields in the new record will be blank or set to default values.

Save & Close: Saves the current record and closes the editor window.

Cancel: Closes the window without saving any changes you've made to the record since the last time you saved. When you Save the record, the Cancel button changes to Close, indicating that you can safely close the window without losing any changes.

Close: Closes the window. This button only appears after you've saved changes with Save or before you've entered any data at all. Otherwise, the button is labeled Cancel.

For more on editors in general, see Using Editors.

< Previous section  |  Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Next section >