Temporary Storage Locations

This help file applies to an out-of-date version of MainBoss.
The most recent version of MainBoss is MainBoss 4.2.2.
For the latest version of this help file can be found here.

< Previous section  |  Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Next section >

You may designate temporary storage locations for the materials you use on a work order. For example, if you are doing a substantial renovation, you may decide to store some materials in a room near the work site rather than keep them in a normal storeroom. You should still record where the materials are, so that workers don't have to guess which materials are in temporary storage and which are still back in your standard storerooms.

A temporary storage assignment specifies a location (the storage place) and the work order for which the storage will be used. Temporary storage locations are typically identified by the number of the work order that is using the storage.

You can create a temporary storage location by clicking New Temporary Storage in the Temporary Storage section of a work order. This opens a window that contains the following:

Details section: Shows basic information for the record.

Work Order: A work order that will use the given location for temporary storage. (If you started from a work order, this field will already be filled in.) For more on work orders, see Work Orders.

Containing Location: A location (from the Locations table) to be used as temporary storage. For more on locations, see Locations.

Description: A description of the temporary storage location.

Comments: Any comments you want to associate with the temporary storage record.

Temporary Storage Assignments section: Lists any temporary storage assignments associated with this location. For more, see Temporary Storage Assignments.

Save: Saves the current record. The editor window stays open in case you want to make more changes to the same record.

Save & New: Saves the current record and sets up the window for you to enter a new record. Fields in the new record will be blank or set to default values.

Save & Close: Saves the current record and closes the editor window.

Cancel: Closes the window without saving any changes you've made to the record since the last time you saved. When you Save the record, the Cancel button changes to Close, indicating that you can safely close the window without losing any changes.

Close: Closes the window. This button only appears after you've saved changes with Save or before you've entered any data at all. Otherwise, the button is labeled Cancel.

For more on editors in general, see Using Editors.

< Previous section  |  Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Next section >