Item Pricing

This help file applies to an out-of-date version of MainBoss.
The most recent version of MainBoss is MainBoss 4.2.2.
For the latest version of this help file can be found here.

< Previous section  |  Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Next section >

Item pricing entries record pricing on items. This may be either the price of an actual purchase or a price quote. New item pricing records can be created from vendor entries or from the items table.

The item pricing editor contains the following:

Effective Date: The date/time on which the price was paid or quoted. This defaults to the current date and time.

Item: The item being priced. This item should already exist in your items table. For more information, see Inventory Item Records.

Vendor: The vendor who supplied the item or the quote. This vendor should already exist in your vendors table. For more information, see Vendors.

Quoted Pricing: The quantity bought or quoted, plus the unit cost and the total cost. If you fill in "Unit Cost", MainBoss automatically sets "Cost" to the total cost (and vice versa).

Order Line Text: The text that should be printed on a purchase order when this item is ordered from the specified vendor. For example, this might be a complete description of the item, plus the catalog number used by the vendor.

Save: Saves the current record. The editor window stays open in case you want to make more changes to the same record.

Save & New: Saves the current record and sets up the window for you to enter a new record. Fields in the new record will be blank or set to default values.

Save & Close: Saves the current record and closes the editor window.

Cancel: Closes the window without saving any changes you've made to the record since the last time you saved. When you Save the record, the Cancel button changes to Close, indicating that you can safely close the window without losing any changes.

Close: Closes the window. This button only appears after you've saved changes with Save or before you've entered any data at all. Otherwise, the button is labeled Cancel.

< Previous section  |  Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Next section >