Making Item Adjustments

This help file applies to an out-of-date version of MainBoss.
The most recent version of MainBoss is MainBoss 4.2.2.
For the latest version of this help file can be found here.

< Previous section  |  Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Next section >

Inventory adjustments are necessary when you need to record a change in your inventory that isn't handled by standard operations. For example, if you accidentally break an item, you should record the loss with an inventory adjustment. This ensures that your inventory records remain up to date.

You do not have to record inventory adjustments for standard operations like using items during the course of a work order.

To record an adjustment, go to Items | Storeroom Assignments or Coding Definitions | Items | Storeroom Assignments and select the record for the item and the storeroom where you want to make an adjustment. Click Edit to open the storeroom assignment record. Then, in the record's Item Activity section, drop the arrow on New Physical Count and click New Item Adjustment. This opens a window where you can record information about the adjustment.

There are other ways to get to the same window. For example, you can start from an adjustment code record and click New Item Adjustment in the Adjustments section.

The window contains the following:

Entry Date: A read-only field giving the date that this record was created.

Effective Date: The effective date when the adjustment took place. By default, this is set to the current date and time, but you can set it to some other date/time.

User Contact: A read-only field giving your user name. This will appear in MainBoss's accounting history to show who made the adjustment.

Storage Assignment: A storeroom assignment record indicating the item and storeroom where the count should be changed. For more on storeroom assignment records, see Storeroom Assignments.

Adjustment Code: The adjustment code used for this adjustment. For more on adjustment codes, see Item Adjustment Codes.

Quantity: The new quantity on hand in the storeroom. (Remember that quantity on hand is the quantity actually present in the storeroom.)

On Hand: Read-only fields giving the quantity of the item on hand in the given storeroom, plus the unit cost and total cost.

Calculated On Hand Cost: A read-only field giving the cost of changing from the old quantity to the new "Quantity", based on MainBoss's existing pricing information for the item. For example, if you are decreasing the quantity by one because you broke an item, "Calculated On Hand Cost" is the expected cost of the broken item.

Use calculated On Hand cost: If this box is checkmarked, MainBoss will use "Calculated On Hand Cost" as the actual cost of the adjustment. If you want to use some other cost, leave the box blank and fill in "Cost".

Cost: The cost involved in the adjustment. For example, if the adjustment is necessary because you broke an item, this is the cost of the broken item. You can fill in the "Unit Cost" column (the cost of a single unit of the item) or the "Total Cost" (the total cost of the adjustment). Whichever column you fill in, MainBoss automatically fills in the other column. If you checkmark Use calculated On Hand cost, MainBoss automatically fills in both columns.

From Cost Center, To Cost Center: Read-only fields telling the cost centers involved in this operation. MainBoss creates accounting records indicating the transfer of money from the first cost center to the second. These fields are only visible if your database has an Accounting license key. For more, see Accounting Facilities.

Save & New: Saves the current record and sets up the window for you to enter a new record. Fields in the new record will be blank or set to default values.

Save: Saves the current record. The editor window stays open in case you want to make more changes to the same record.

Save & Close: Saves the current record and closes the editor window.

Cancel: Closes the window without saving any changes you've made to the record since the last time you saved. When you Save the record, the Cancel button changes to Close, indicating that you can safely close the window without losing any changes.

Close: Closes the window. This button only appears after you've saved changes with Save or before you've entered any data at all. Otherwise, the button is labeled Cancel.

< Previous section  |  Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Next section >