Assigning Someone to a Work Order

This help file applies to an out-of-date version of MainBoss.
The most recent version of MainBoss is MainBoss 4.2.2.
For the latest version of this help file can be found here.

< Previous section  |  Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Next section >

You can assign someone to a work order, provided that the person has an entry in the Work Orders Assignees table (Coding Definitions | Work Orders | Work Order Assignees). When someone is assigned to a work order, it indicates that the person has some interest in the work order. For further information on assignments, see Assignments.

To assign someone to a work order, click the New Work Order Assignment button in the Assignments section of a work order. This opens a window that contains the following:

Work Order area: If you started from a work order record, this area will contain a read-only field identifying the work order.

If you started from a work order assignee record, the Work Order area allows you to choose one or more work orders to which the person should be assigned. You specify these work orders using the multi-select drop-down list at the bottom of the Work Order area. Option buttons in the Work Order area let you shorten the contents of the drop-down list, to make it easier to choose the work orders you want. The option buttons include:

Only show Draft Work Orders: If you choose this option, the drop-down list will only show work orders in the Draft state.

Only show Open Work Orders: If you choose this option, the drop-down list will only show work orders in the Open state.

Only show Closed Work Orders: If you choose this option, the drop-down list will only show work orders in the Closed state.

Show all Work Orders: If you choose this option, the drop-down list shows all work orders.

Drop-down list: A list of all work orders that match the criteria specified above.

Assignee area: If you started from a work order assignee record, this area will contain a read-only field identifying the work order assignee.

If you started from a work order record, the Assignee area lets you specify one or more people to whom you are assigning to this work order. The bottom of the area contains a multi-select drop-down list where you can specify the assignees. The options in the area let you reduce the number of possibilities shown in the drop-down list.

Show prospects for Work Order Assignee for this Work Order: If you click this option, the drop-down list will show people who are already mentioned in this work order in some other context. This often includes the requestor and workers who've already been assigned to the work order.

Show all Work Order Assignees not currently assigned to this Work Order: If you click this option, the drop-down list will show everyone in the Work Order Assignee table who isn't already assigned to this work order.

Drop-down list: A list of all potential assignees who match the criteria specified above.

Save & New: Saves the current record and sets up the window for you to enter a new record. Fields in the new record will be blank or set to default values.

Save & Close: Saves the current record and closes the editor window.

Cancel: Closes the window without saving any changes you've made to the record since the last time you saved. When you Save the record, the Cancel button changes to Close, indicating that you can safely close the window without losing any changes.

Close: Closes the window. This button only appears after you've saved changes with Save or before you've entered any data at all. Otherwise, the button is labeled Cancel.

For more on work orders, see Work Orders. For more on work order assignees, see Work Order Assignees.

< Previous section  |  Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Next section >