Adding Database Users

This help file applies to an out-of-date version of MainBoss.
The most recent version of MainBoss is MainBoss 4.2.3.
For the latest version of this help file can be found here.

< Previous section  |  Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Next section >

When you authorize someone to use MainBoss, you must specify how that person will access the MainBoss database. There are two possibilities.

When you authorize a new person to use MainBoss, you must specify which method will be used. You do this by clicking New SQL Database User in the window for selecting a SQL database user. (For more information on this window, see The Database User Table.)

When a new user is added to the database through this window, MainBoss automatically authorizes that user to access the MainBoss database. In order for this to work, you must have administration privileges on the instance of SQL Server that manages the MainBoss database.

The window for creating a new SQL database user contains the following:

User name: The name to be associated with the user. This is the name that will appear in MainBoss's Users table.

Login name: The login name of the user, as specified in SQL Server's list of authorized login names. To specify the login name, click the "..." button that follows the field. (Note that "..." only works if you have appropriate SQL Server permissions.) For more about specifying login names, see The Database Login Table.

Password: The user's SQL Server password. This is only needed if you choose SQL Password authentication. If you choose Windows Authentication, the "Password" field will be disabled.

Authentication: Lets you specify either Windows Authentication or login using a SQL Password. If you choose SQL Password, you must specify the user's SQL password in the "Password" field.

Save & New: Saves the current record and sets up the window for you to enter a new record. Fields in the new record will be blank or set to default values.

Save & Close: Saves the current record and closes the editor window.

Cancel: Closes the window without saving any changes you've made to the record since the last time you saved. When you Save the record, the Cancel button changes to Close, indicating that you can safely close the window without losing any changes.

Close: Closes the window. This button only appears after you've saved changes with Save or before you've entered any data at all. Otherwise, the button is labeled Cancel.

< Previous section  |  Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Next section >