Editing Task Temporary Storage Assignments

This help file applies to an out-of-date version of MainBoss.
The most recent version of MainBoss is MainBoss 4.2.2.
For the latest version of this help file can be found here.

< Previous section  |  Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Next section >

Task temporary storage assignments specify an item and a temporary storage location that might be used to hold that item during planned maintenance tasks. For example, you might specify that every time you do a 3000-mile check-up on a vehicle, various materials (like engine oil, air filters, etc.) should be put out on a particular work bench so they'll be available if needed. The work bench is the temporary storage that can be used in such tasks.

For more on temporary storage assignments during work orders, see Temporary Storage Locations. For more on task temporary storage locations, see Editing Task Temporary Storage Locations.

Before you can create a task temporary storage assignment, you must first associate a temporary storage location with the task. Then you click New Task Temporary Storage Assignment in the Task Temporary Storage section of the task record. This opens a window that contains the following:

Item: The inventory item whose location you're recording. For more on inventory items, see Inventory Item Records.

Location: A temporary storage location. This must already be a temporary storage location associated with the task.

Item Price: A price or price quote on the item. Typically, this is used to indicate the vendor from whom you prefer to purchase the item. For more on item pricing, see Item Pricing.

Save & New: Saves the current record and sets up the window for you to enter a new record. Fields in the new record will be blank or set to default values.

Save: Saves the current record. The editor window stays open in case you want to make more changes to the same record.

Save & Close: Saves the current record and closes the editor window.

Cancel: Closes the window without saving any changes you've made to the record since the last time you saved. When you Save the record, the Cancel button changes to Close, indicating that you can safely close the window without losing any changes.

Close: Closes the window. This button only appears after you've saved changes with Save or before you've entered any data at all. Otherwise, the button is labeled Cancel.

< Previous section  |  Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Next section >