Adding Database Logins

This help file applies to an out-of-date version of MainBoss.
The most recent version of MainBoss is MainBoss 4.2.3.
For the latest version of this help file can be found here.

< Previous section  |  Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Next section >

When you authorize someone to use MainBoss, you must associate that person with an authorized SQL Server login. There are two types of login:

When you authorize a new login for using SQL Server, you must specify which method will be used. You do this by clicking New SQL Database Login in the window for selecting a SQL database login. (For more information on this window, see The Database Login Table.)

The window for creating a new SQL database login contains the following:

Login name: The login name to be associated with the user. This is either an existing Windows login name or a special login name to be used with SQL Server.

Password: The user's SQL Server password. This is only needed if you choose SQL Password authentication. If you choose Windows Authentication, the "Password" field will be disabled.

Authentication: Lets you specify either Windows Authentication or login using a SQL Password. If you choose Windows Authentication, "Login Name" will be a normal Windows login name and you'll leave "Password" blank. If you choose SQL Password, you must specify a new SQL login name, and the user's SQL password in the "Password" field. In order to do either of these, you must have administration privileges with SQL Server.

Save & New: Saves the current record and sets up the window for you to enter a new record. Fields in the new record will be blank or set to default values.

Save & Close: Saves the current record and closes the editor window.

Cancel: Closes the window without saving any changes you've made to the record since the last time you saved. When you Save the record, the Cancel button changes to Close, indicating that you can safely close the window without losing any changes.

Close: Closes the window. This button only appears after you've saved changes with Save or before you've entered any data at all. Otherwise, the button is labeled Cancel.

< Previous section  |  Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Next section >