Corrections of Actual Hourly Inside

This help file applies to an out-of-date version of MainBoss.
The most recent version of MainBoss is MainBoss 4.2.2.
For the latest version of this help file can be found here.

< Previous section  |  Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Next section >

To correct an Actual Hourly Inside record, you start in the Inside subsection of the Resources section of the work order. Select the demand corresponding to the Actual Hourly Inside you want to correct. Click Edit to open the Demand Hourly Inside record. Go to the Actuals section of that record, click on the Actual Hourly Inside entry you want to correct, then click Correct. This opens a window where you can correct the record:

Entry Date: A read-only field giving the date that this record was created.

Effective Date: The date/time when the work was done.

User Contact: A read-only field giving your name. This will appear in MainBoss's accounting history to show who made the correction.

Read-only fields: Provide information relevant to the job. This includes the work order number, the estimated time required and the time already actualized.

Use all remaining demand: If you checkmark this box, MainBoss completes the record to indicate that you used the time listed under "Remaining Demand". If you leave the box blank, you will have to fill in this information yourself.

Hours: Corrects the hours actually used. Typically, you fill in the "As Corrected" field with the actual hours—the correct time, as opposed to the time you originally recorded. The alternative is to fill in "This Entry" with the difference between the time you originally entered and the true time.

For example, suppose you really used 3:00 hours but you accidentally typed 1:00 in the original record. You could fill in "As Corrected" with 3:00 (the correct number) or fill in "This Entry" with 2:00 (the difference between what you originally typed and the true quantity). "This Entry" may be a negative number if you originally typed in too much.

If you fill in "As Corrected", MainBoss automatically sets "This Entry" and vice versa.

Calculated Labor Cost: Read-only fields giving the expected cost of the corrected quantity. The "Hourly Rate" column gives the cost per hour and the "Total Cost" column gives the total cost.

Demanded, Demanded Cost: The estimated hours and cost stated in the original demand.

Manually Enter Cost: If you select this option, you must enter the actual cost of the labor in "This Entry" or "As Corrected".

Use calculated labor cost: If you select this option, the costs in "This Entry" and "As Corrected" will be set using the labor cost given in the original hourly inside record.

Use demanded cost: If you select this option, the costs in "This Entry" and "As Corrected" will be set using the labor cost given in the original estimated demand.

This Entry, As Corrected: Corrects the actual cost (if necessary). Typically, you fill in "As Corrected" with the correct cost of the correct number of hours. The alternative is to fill in "This Entry" with the difference between the cost you originally entered and the true cost.

If you fill in "As Corrected", MainBoss automatically sets "This Entry" and vice versa.

From Cost Center, To Cost Center: Read-only fields telling the cost centers involved in this operation. MainBoss creates accounting records indicating the transfer of money from the first cost center to the second. These fields are only visible if your database has an Accounting license key. For more, see Accounting Facilities.

Save: Saves the current record. The editor window stays open in case you want to make more changes to the same record.

Save & New: Saves the current record and sets up the window for you to enter a new record. Fields in the new record will be blank or set to default values.

Save & Close: Saves the current record and closes the editor window.

Cancel: Closes the window without saving any changes you've made to the record since the last time you saved. When you Save the record, the Cancel button changes to Close, indicating that you can safely close the window without losing any changes.

Close: Closes the window. This button only appears after you've saved changes with Save or before you've entered any data at all. Otherwise, the button is labeled Cancel.

For more on actual hourly inside records, see Actual Hourly Inside. For more on resources, see Resources. For more on work orders, see Work Orders. For more on editors in general, see Using Editors.

< Previous section  |  Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Next section >