Actual Per Job Inside

This help file applies to an out-of-date version of MainBoss.
The most recent version of MainBoss is MainBoss 4.2.2.
For the latest version of this help file can be found here.

< Previous section  |  Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Next section >

An Actual Per Job Inside record specifies that one of your personnel worked on a particular job, with the work paid at a per job rate. You identify the worker by specifying a per job inside record; this record gives the worker's name and rate for this job. (For more on per job inside records, see Per Job Inside.)

The usual way to reach the Actual Per Job Inside editor is to select a Demand Per Job Inside in the Inside subsection of the Resources section of a work order, then click the Actualize button. (For more on per job inside demands, see Demand Per Job Inside.)

A single per job inside demand can produce multiple Actual Per Job Inside records. For example, suppose the original Demand Per Job Inside specifies painting four rooms, with a per job rate for painting each room. You might paint two rooms one day and two rooms the next. In this case, you could create two Actual Per Job Inside records: one for the first two rooms, and one for the next. Each of these records would have "Quantity" set to 2 (for two rooms). In general, if a job takes place over several days, it's up to you whether to create a separate Actual Per Job Inside record for each day, or a single Actual Per Job Inside record covering the whole job.

The Actual Per Job Inside editor contains the following:

Entry Date: A read-only field giving the date that this record was created.

Effective Date: The date/time when the work was done. By default, this is set to the current date/time.

User Contact: A read-only field giving your name. This will appear in MainBoss's accounting history to show who did the actualization.

Read-only fields: Provide information relevant to the job. This includes the work order number, the estimated "per job" units required and the units already actualized.

Use all remaining demand: If you checkmark this box, MainBoss completes the record to indicate that you used the time listed under "Remaining Demand". If you leave the box blank, you will have to fill in this information yourself.

Quantity: The quantity under "This Entry" gives the number of job units actually performed.

Calculated Job Cost: Read-only fields giving the expected cost of the work done.

Demanded, Demanded Cost: The estimated work and cost stated in the original demand.

Manually Enter Cost: If you select this option, you must enter the actual cost of the labor in "This Entry".

Use calculated job cost: If you select this option, "This Entry" will be set to the cost of the labor as taken from the chosen per job inside record.

Use demanded cost: If you select this option, "This Entry" will be set to the cost of the labor as given in the original estimated demand.

This Entry: The actual cost of the labor used. This will be read-only unless you selected Manually Enter Cost.

As Corrected: Will be the same as "This Entry" unless you have made a correction to this record after it was originally created.

From Cost Center, To Cost Center: Read-only fields telling the cost centers involved in this operation. MainBoss creates accounting records indicating the transfer of money from the first cost center to the second. These fields are only visible if your database has an Accounting license key. For more, see Accounting Facilities.

Save: Saves the current record. The editor window stays open in case you want to make more changes to the same record.

Save & New: Saves the current record and sets up the window for you to enter a new record. Fields in the new record will be blank or set to default values.

Save & Close: Saves the current record and closes the editor window.

Cancel: Closes the window without saving any changes you've made to the record since the last time you saved. When you Save the record, the Cancel button changes to Close, indicating that you can safely close the window without losing any changes.

Close: Closes the window. This button only appears after you've saved changes with Save or before you've entered any data at all. Otherwise, the button is labeled Cancel.

When you don't have permissions to see labor costs: Your security roles may permit you to record a worker's actual quantity of work but not to view the costs of that person's work. In this case, MainBoss automatically assigns costs to the labor.

For more on security roles, see Security Roles. For more on resources, see Resources. For more on work orders, see Work Orders. For more on editors in general, see Using Editors.

< Previous section  |  Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Next section >