Actual Hourly Inside

This help file applies to an out-of-date version of MainBoss.
The most recent version of MainBoss is MainBoss 4.2.2.
For the latest version of this help file can be found here.

< Previous section  |  Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Next section >

An Actual Hourly Inside record specifies that one of your personnel worked on a particular job, with the work paid at an hourly rate. You identify the worker by specifying an hourly inside record; this record gives the worker's name and hourly rate. (For more on hourly inside records, see Hourly Inside.)

The usual way to reach the Actual Hourly Inside editor is to select a Demand Hourly Inside in the Inside subsection of the Resources section of a work order, then click Actualize. (For more on hourly inside demands, see Demand Hourly Inside.)

A single hourly inside demand can produce multiple Actual Hourly Inside records. For example, suppose the original Demand Hourly Inside estimates that a job will take eight hours. You might do four hours one day and four hours the next. In this case, you could create two Actual Hourly Inside records: one for the first four hours, and one for the next. Each of these records would have "Hours" set to 4:00. In general, if a job takes place over several days, it's up to you whether to create a separate Actual Hourly Inside record for each day, or a single Actual Hourly Inside record covering the whole job.

The Actual Hourly Inside editor contains the following:

Entry Date: A read-only field giving the date that this record was created.

Effective Date: The date/time when the work was done. By default, this is set to the current date/time.

User Contact: A read-only field giving your name. This will appear in MainBoss's accounting history to show who did the actualization.

Read-only fields: Provide information relevant to the job. This includes the work order number, the estimated time required and the time already actualized.

Use all remaining demand: If you checkmark this box, MainBoss completes the record to indicate that you used the time listed under "Remaining Demand". If you leave the box blank, you will have to fill in this information yourself.

Hours: The time under "This Entry" gives the number of hours actually used.

Calculated Labor Cost: Read-only fields giving the expected cost of the time worked.

Demanded, Demanded Cost: The estimated hours and cost stated in the original demand.

Manually Enter Cost: If you select this option, you must enter the actual cost of the labor in "This Entry".

Use calculated labor cost: If you select this option, "This Entry" will be set to the cost of the labor as taken from the chosen hourly inside record.

Use demanded cost: If you select this option, "This Entry" will be set to the cost of the labor as given in the original estimated demand.

This Entry: The actual cost of the labor used. This will be read-only unless you select Manually Enter Cost.

As Corrected: Will be the same as "This Entry" unless you have made a correction to this record after it was originally created.

From Cost Center, To Cost Center: Read-only fields telling the cost centers involved in this operation. MainBoss creates accounting records indicating the transfer of money from the first cost center to the second. These fields are only visible if your database has an Accounting license key. For more, see Accounting Facilities.

Save: Saves the current record. The editor window stays open in case you want to make more changes to the same record.

Save & New: Saves the current record and sets up the window for you to enter a new record. Fields in the new record will be blank or set to default values.

Save & Close: Saves the current record and closes the editor window.

Cancel: Closes the window without saving any changes you've made to the record since the last time you saved. When you Save the record, the Cancel button changes to Close, indicating that you can safely close the window without losing any changes.

Close: Closes the window. This button only appears after you've saved changes with Save or before you've entered any data at all. Otherwise, the button is labeled Cancel.

When you don't have permissions to see labor costs: Your security roles may permit you to record a worker's actual hours but not to view the costs of that person's work. In this case, MainBoss automatically assigns costs to the labor.

For more on security roles, see Security Roles. For more on resources, see Resources. For more on work orders, see Work Orders. For more on editors in general, see Using Editors.

< Previous section  |  Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Next section >