Corrections of Actual Items

This help file applies to an out-of-date version of MainBoss.
The most recent version of MainBoss is MainBoss 4.2.2.
For the latest version of this help file can be found here.

< Previous section  |  Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Next section >

To correct an Actual Item record, you start in the Items subsection of the Resources section of the work order. Select the demand corresponding to the Actual Item you want to correct. Click Edit to open the Demand Item record. Go to the Actuals section of that record, click on the Actual Item entry you want to correct, then click Correct. This opens a window where you can correct the record:

Entry Date: A read-only field giving the date that this record was created.

Effective Date: The date/time when the item was used.

User Contact: A read-only field giving your name. This will appear in MainBoss's accounting history to show who made the correction.

Read-only fields: Provide information from the original demand and from storeroom assignment records.

Use all remaining demand: If you checkmark this box, MainBoss completes the record to indicate that you used the quantity listed under "Remaining Demand". If you leave the box blank, you will have to fill in "Quantity" yourself.

Quantity: Corrects the quantity actually used. Typically, you fill in the "As Corrected" field with the actual quantity used—the correct quantity, as opposed to the quantity you originally recorded. The alternative is to fill in "This Entry" with the difference between the quantity you originally entered and the true quantity.

For example, suppose you really used 3 but you accidentally typed 1 in the original record. You could fill in "As Corrected" with 3 (the correct number) or fill in "This Entry" with 2 (the difference between what you originally typed and the true quantity). Note that "This Entry" may be a negative number if you originally typed in too much.

If you fill in "As Corrected", MainBoss automatically sets "This Entry" and vice versa. (Note that the "As Corrected" quantity may be the same as the original quantity, if you're correcting the cost, not the quantity.)

On Hand, Calculated On Hand Cost: The quantity of the item present in the specified location and the costs associated with that quantity.

Demanded, Demanded Cost: The estimated quantity and cost stated in the original demand.

Manually Enter Cost: If you select this option, you must enter the actual cost of the item(s) used in "This Entry" or "As Corrected".

Use calculated On Hand cost: If you select this option, the costs in "This Entry" and "As Corrected" will be set using the cost of the item(s) as taken from inventory records.

Use demanded cost: If you select this option, the costs in "This Entry" and "As Corrected" will be set using the cost of the item(s) as given in the original estimated demand.

This Entry, As Corrected: Corrects the actual cost (if necessary). Typically, you fill in "As Corrected" with the correct cost of the correct quantity. The alternative is to fill in "This Entry" with the difference between the cost you originally entered and the true cost.

If you fill in "As Corrected", MainBoss automatically sets "This Entry" and vice versa.

From Cost Center, To Cost Center: Read-only fields telling the cost centers involved in this operation. MainBoss creates accounting records indicating the transfer of money from the first cost center to the second. These fields are only visible if your database has an Accounting license key. For more, see Accounting Facilities.

Save: Saves the current record. The editor window stays open in case you want to make more changes to the same record.

Save & New: Saves the current record and sets up the window for you to enter a new record. Fields in the new record will be blank or set to default values.

Save & Close: Saves the current record and closes the editor window.

Cancel: Closes the window without saving any changes you've made to the record since the last time you saved. When you Save the record, the Cancel button changes to Close, indicating that you can safely close the window without losing any changes.

Close: Closes the window. This button only appears after you've saved changes with Save or before you've entered any data at all. Otherwise, the button is labeled Cancel.

For more on actual item records, see Actual Item. For more on resources in general, see Resources. For more on work orders, see Work Orders. For more on editors in general, see Using Editors.

< Previous section  |  Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Next section >