Editing Expense Categories

This help file applies to an out-of-date version of MainBoss.
The most recent version of MainBoss is MainBoss 4.2.2.
For the latest version of this help file can be found here.

< Previous section  |  Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Next section >

You create or modify expense categories by clicking New Expense Category or Edit in the View section of Coding Definitions | Work Orders | Expense Categories. For an overview of expense categories and MainBoss accounting in general, see Accounting Facilities.

The expense category editor contains the following:

Code: A brief code to identify this record. No two records may have the same code.

Description: A longer description of the expense category.

Comments: Any comments you want to associate with the category.

Valid for Items: If this box is checkmarked, this expense category may be used for entries in the Items subsection of a work order's Resources section. If the box is blank, the expense category may not be used for items.

Filter for Hourly Inside, Hourly Outside, Per Job Inside, Per Job Outside: If this box is checkmarked, this expense category may be used for entries in the Inside and Outside subsections of a work order's Resources section. If the box is blank, the expense category may not be used for such labor expenses.

Valid for Miscellaneous Costs: If this box is checkmarked, this expense category may be used for entries in the Miscellaneous Expenses subsection of a work order's Resources section. If the box is blank, the expense category may not be used for miscellaneous expenses.

Expense Mappings section: Lists any expense models that allow this expense category. For more on expense mappings, see Expense Mappings.

Save: Saves the current record. The editor window stays open in case you want to make more changes to the same record.

Save & New: Saves the current record and sets up the window for you to enter a new record. Fields in the new record will be blank or set to default values.

Save & Close: Saves the current record and closes the editor window.

Cancel: Closes the window without saving any changes you've made to the record since the last time you saved. When you Save the record, the Cancel button changes to Close, indicating that you can safely close the window without losing any changes.

Close: Closes the window. This button only appears after you've saved changes with Save or before you've entered any data at all. Otherwise, the button is labeled Cancel.

For more on expense categories, see Expense Categories. For more on viewing such records, see Viewing Expense Categories. For more on editors in general, see Using Editors.

< Previous section  |  Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Next section >