Expense Mappings

This help file applies to an out-of-date version of MainBoss.
The most recent version of MainBoss is MainBoss 4.2.2.
For the latest version of this help file can be found here.

< Previous section  |  Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Next section >

An expense model mapping says that a particular expense category is allowed within the expense model. For more on expense models and expense categories, see Accounting Facilities.

There are several ways to create a new mapping. For example, you can click New Expense Mapping in the Expense Mappings section of an expense model record. You can also click New Expense Mapping in the Expense Mappings section of an expense category record. Either way, you get a window that contains the following:

Model: The expense model in which the mapping will be allowed. If you got to this window from an expense model record, this field will be read-only (giving the name of the expense model record). For more on expense models, see Expense Models.

Category: An expense category which will be allowed in the expense model. If you got to this window from an expense category record, this field will be read-only (giving the name of the expense category record). For more on expense categories, see Expense Categories.

Valid for Items, Valid for Hourly Inside, Hourly Outside, Per Job Inside, Per Job Outside, Valid for Miscellaneous Costs: These checkboxes indicate what uses are valid for the chosen "Category". The checkboxes are read-only; to allow different uses of the expense category, you must edit the expense category record.

Cost Center: The cost center to be associated with this expense category in this expense model. For more on cost centers, see Cost Centers. (The "Cost Center" field is only visible if your database has an Accounting module license key.)

Save: Saves the current record. The editor window stays open in case you want to make more changes to the same record.

Save & New: Saves the current record and sets up the window for you to enter a new record. Fields in the new record will be blank or set to default values.

Save & Close: Saves the current record and closes the editor window.

Cancel: Closes the window without saving any changes you've made to the record since the last time you saved. When you Save the record, the Cancel button changes to Close, indicating that you can safely close the window without losing any changes.

Close: Closes the window. This button only appears after you've saved changes with Save or before you've entered any data at all. Otherwise, the button is labeled Cancel.

For more on work orders, see Work Orders. For more on expense models, see Expense Models. For more on expense categories, see Expense Categories. For more on editors in general, see Using Editors.

< Previous section  |  Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Next section >