Editing Work Order Priorities

This help file applies to an out-of-date version of MainBoss.
The most recent version of MainBoss is MainBoss 4.2.2.
For the latest version of this help file can be found here.

< Previous section  |  Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Next section >

You create or modify work order priorities using the work order priority editor. The usual way to open the editor is to click New Work Order Priority or Edit in the View section of Coding Definitions | Work Orders | Work Order Priorities.

Work orders with explicit priorities are considered more urgent than ones where the priority field is blank. Therefore, if you sort your work orders by priority, those with no explicit priority will come last.

The editor window contains the following:

Details section: Shows basic information for the record.

Code: A brief code to identify this record. No two records may have the same code.

Description: A longer description of the work order priority.

Rank: A rank number to associate with this record. The most urgent priority should have the lowest number and less urgent priorities should have increasingly higher numbers. Ranks do not have to start at 1 or be consecutive.

Comments: Any comments you want to associate with the work order priority.

Work Orders section: Shows any work orders that use this priority. For more on work orders, see Work Orders.

Tasks section: Shows any tasks that use this priority. For more on tasks, see Tasks.

Save: Saves the current record. The editor window stays open in case you want to make more changes to the same record.

Save & New: Saves the current record and sets up the window for you to enter a new record. Fields in the new record will be blank or set to default values.

Save & Close: Saves the current record and closes the editor window.

Cancel: Closes the window without saving any changes you've made to the record since the last time you saved. When you Save the record, the Cancel button changes to Close, indicating that you can safely close the window without losing any changes.

Close: Closes the window. This button only appears after you've saved changes with Save or before you've entered any data at all. Otherwise, the button is labeled Cancel.

For more on work order priorities, see Work Order Priorities. For more on viewing work order priorities, see Viewing Work Order Priorities. For more on editors in general, see Using Editors.

< Previous section  |  Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Next section >