Assigning Security Roles to Users

This help file applies to an out-of-date version of MainBoss.
The most recent version of MainBoss is MainBoss 4.2.2.
For the latest version of this help file can be found here.

< Previous section  |  Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Next section >

You can assign a security role to someone from the Security Roles section of the person's user record or from the Users section of the role record. Click Assign Role to assign a new role to a user or vice versa. MainBoss opens a window containing the following:

Principal: Specifies the role(s) you want to assign to the user.

User: Specifies the user whom you want to assign the role. Once you specify a user, the window will display read-only information about that user.

Save: Saves the current record. The editor window stays open in case you want to make more changes to the same record.

Save & New: Saves the current record and sets up the window for you to enter a new record. Fields in the new record will be blank or set to default values.

Save & Close: Saves the current record and closes the editor window.

Cancel: Closes the window without saving any changes you've made to the record since the last time you saved. When you Save the record, the Cancel button changes to Close, indicating that you can safely close the window without losing any changes.

Close: Closes the window. This button only appears after you've saved changes with Save or before you've entered any data at all. Otherwise, the button is labeled Cancel.

Note: Assign security roles based on the work that a particular user will be expected to do. For example, a maintenance manager will typically have more roles (more permissions) than a general worker. The department bookkeeper will typically have different roles than someone working on a helpdesk.

For more on roles and groups, see Security Roles. For more on users, see Users. For more on editors in general, see Using Editors.

< Previous section  |  Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Next section >