Unit-to-Contact Relationships

This help file applies to an out-of-date version of MainBoss.
The most recent version of MainBoss is MainBoss 4.2.2.
For the latest version of this help file can be found here.

< Previous section  |  Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Next section >

You create unit-to-contact relationships by clicking New Unit Related Contact in the Contact Relations section of a unit or contact record. The editor window contains the following:

Relationship: The relationship between the unit and the contact person. This must be a relationship record; for more on relationships, see Relationships.

Once you specify a relationship, the blank field between "Contact" and "Unit" will be filled in with the appropriate phrase from the relationship record. For example, if the relationship states that the contact leases the unit, the blank field will be filled in with Leases.

Unit: The unit that takes part in this relationship. For more on units, see Units.

If you got to this window by clicking the New Unit Related Contact button in a unit record, the "Unit" field will already be filled in with the name of the unit. This cannot be changed.

Otherwise, if you got to this window by clicking New Unit Related Contact in a contact record, the "Unit" field will be blank. You can use the multi-select dropdown box to select one or more units that have the chosen relationship with the original contact.

Contact: The contact person who takes part in this relationship. For more on contacts, see Contacts.

If you got to this window by clicking the New Unit Related Contact button in a contact record, the "Contact" field will already be filled in with the name of the contact. This cannot be changed.

Otherwise, if you got to this window by clicking New Unit Related Contact in a unit record, the "Contact" field will be blank. You can use the multi-select dropdown box to select one or more contacts who have the chosen relationship with the original unit.

Save & New: Saves the current record and sets up the window for you to enter a new record. Fields in the new record will be blank or set to default values.

Save: Saves the current record. The editor window stays open in case you want to make more changes to the same record.

Save & Close: Saves the current record and closes the editor window.

Cancel: Closes the window without saving any changes you've made to the record since the last time you saved. When you Save the record, the Cancel button changes to Close, indicating that you can safely close the window without losing any changes.

Close: Closes the window. This button only appears after you've saved changes with Save or before you've entered any data at all. Otherwise, the button is labeled Cancel.

For more on editors in general, see Using Editors.

< Previous section  |  Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Next section >