Editing Service Contracts

This help file applies to an out-of-date version of MainBoss.
The most recent version of MainBoss is MainBoss 4.2.2.
For the latest version of this help file can be found here.

< Previous section  |  Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Next section >

You create or modify service contracts using the service contract editor. The usual way to open the editor is to click New Service Contract or Edit in the View section of Coding Definitions | Units | Service Contracts.

The service contract editor window contains the following:

Code: A brief code to identify this record. No two records may have the same code.

Description: A longer description of the service contract.

Vendor: The contract who provides the service. You must have an entry for this vendor in your vendor list. For more on vendors, see Vendors.

Vendor Service Contact Business Phone: A read-only field giving the vendor's business phone number. This comes from the chosen vendor record.

Contract Number: Any identification number associated with the service contract.

Start Date: The start date for the contract.

End Date: The ending date for the contract.

Parts: Checkmark this box if the service contract covers parts; blank out the box if not.

Labor: Checkmark this box if the service contract covers labor; blank out the box if not.

Cost: The cost of the service contract.

Comments: Any comments you want to associate with the service contract.

Units section: Shows any units covered by this service contract. For more on units, see Units.

Save: Saves the current record. The editor window stays open in case you want to make more changes to the same record.

Save & New: Saves the current record and sets up the window for you to enter a new record. Fields in the new record will be blank or set to default values.

Save & Close: Saves the current record and closes the editor window.

Cancel: Closes the window without saving any changes you've made to the record since the last time you saved. When you Save the record, the Cancel button changes to Close, indicating that you can safely close the window without losing any changes.

Close: Closes the window. This button only appears after you've saved changes with Save or before you've entered any data at all. Otherwise, the button is labeled Cancel.

For more on service contracts, see Service Contracts. For more on viewing service contracts, see Viewing Service Contracts. For more on editors in general, see Using Editors.

< Previous section  |  Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Next section >