Editing Requestor Records

This help file applies to an out-of-date version of MainBoss.
The most recent version of MainBoss is MainBoss 4.2.2.
For the latest version of this help file can be found here.

< Previous section  |  Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Next section >

You create or modify requestor records using the requestor editor. The usual way to open the editor is to click New Requestor or Edit in the View section of Coding Definitions | Requests | Requestors.

The requestor editor window contains the following:

Details section: Shows basic information for the record.

Contact: An entry in the Contacts table that refers to this requestor. This Contacts record must give the person's email address. For more on contacts, see Contacts.

Business Phone, Email: Read-only fields giving the person's business phone number and email address. This information is obtained from the requestor's record in the Contacts table.

Receive Acknowledgement: This box is only active if you have the MainBoss Service module. If you checkmark the box, the requestor will automatically be sent acknowledgements whenever his/her submitted requests change state (e.g. when they are marked as in progress). For more on request states, see Requests.

Comments: Any comments you want to associated with this requestor.

Requests section: Shows work requests submitted by this requestor.

Work Orders section: Shows work orders resulting from this requestor's requests.

Save & New: Saves the current record and sets up the window for you to enter a new record. Fields in the new record will be blank or set to default values.

Save: Saves the current record. The editor window stays open in case you want to make more changes to the same record.

Save & Close: Saves the current record and closes the editor window.

Cancel: Closes the window without saving any changes you've made to the record since the last time you saved. When you Save the record, the Cancel button changes to Close, indicating that you can safely close the window without losing any changes.

Close: Closes the window. This button only appears after you've saved changes with Save or before you've entered any data at all. Otherwise, the button is labeled Cancel.

For more on requestors, see Requestors. For more on viewing requestors, see Viewing Requestor Records. For more on editors in general, see Using Editors.

< Previous section  |  Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Next section >