Permissions

This help file applies to an out-of-date version of MainBoss.
The most recent version of MainBoss is MainBoss 4.2.2.
For the latest version of this help file can be found here.

< Previous section  |  Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Next section >

A permission is associated with the ability to view and/or change parts of the MainBoss database. Every security role has one or more associated permissions, indicating what someone with that role is permitted to do. You assign permissions to a security role using the New Permission button in the Permissions section of the security role editor.

Permissions are identified by text strings. For example, the string Table.Vendor.View is the permission that lets someone view the Vendors table. If you create a new security role for your organization, you will specify one or more permissions for the role. To find out the names of available permissions, look at the Permissions section of one of the built-in security roles.

Note: Creating a new security role requires significant technical expertise; we recommend that you consult with MainBoss Support before you attempt it. This version of MainBoss doesn't let you change the permissions of built-in security roles, but you can create new roles of your own.

The window for associating a permission with a security role contains the following:

Security role name: A read-only field giving the name of the security role.

Permission Path Pattern: The permission you want to assign to the role. This is a text string that must be in exactly the correct format expected by MainBoss. For help, see the permissions associated with the built-in security roles.

Save: Saves the current record. The editor window stays open in case you want to make more changes to the same record.

Save & New: Saves the current record and sets up the window for you to enter a new record. Fields in the new record will be blank or set to default values.

Save & Close: Saves the current record and closes the editor window.

Cancel: Closes the window without saving any changes you've made to the record since the last time you saved. When you Save the record, the Cancel button changes to Close, indicating that you can safely close the window without losing any changes.

Close: Closes the window. This button only appears after you've saved changes with Save or before you've entered any data at all. Otherwise, the button is labeled Cancel.

For more on roles, see Security Roles. For more on viewing roles, see Viewing Security Roles. For more on editors in general, see Using Editors.

< Previous section  |  Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Next section >