Message String Translations

This help file applies to an out-of-date version of MainBoss.
The most recent version of MainBoss is MainBoss 4.2.2.
For the latest version of this help file can be found here.

< Previous section  |  Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Next section >

MainBoss lets you customize the message strings used by MainBoss Service and to translate those strings into other languages. For more information, see Editing MainBoss Service Messages.

Note that comments to requestors written by MainBoss users are not translated—they remain in whatever language the commenter used.

The message translation window contains the following:

Language Code Identifier: Specifies the language of the string. If you drop down the arrow, you will see all the languages recognized by Microsoft Windows.

In many cases, Windows allows for regional variations in a particular language. For example, you'll see that there are entries for French (Belgium), French (Canada), French (France), and so on. If a user sets his or her personal regional preferences to French (Canada), MainBoss will first look to see if such a translation exists; if not, MainBoss will look for French (without any regional variation); if that doesn't exist either, MainBoss will use the default language.

Translation: The message string you want to use in the given language. MainBoss does not impose any length limitation on this string. However, other software might. For example, some email programs limit the length of a message's subject line; if the string for RequestorNotificationSubjectPrefix is too long, the email program may truncate it or take some other action.

Save: Saves the current record. The editor window stays open in case you want to make more changes to the same record.

Save & New: Saves the current record and sets up the window for you to enter a new record. Fields in the new record will be blank or set to default values.

Save & Close: Saves the current record and closes the editor window.

Cancel: Closes the window without saving any changes you've made to the record since the last time you saved. When you Save the record, the Cancel button changes to Close, indicating that you can safely close the window without losing any changes.

Close: Closes the window. This button only appears after you've saved changes with Save or before you've entered any data at all. Otherwise, the button is labeled Cancel.

< Previous section  |  Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Next section >