Editing Hourly Outside Records

This help file applies to an out-of-date version of MainBoss.
The most recent version of MainBoss is MainBoss 4.2.2.
For the latest version of this help file can be found here.

< Previous section  |  Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Next section >

You create or modify hourly outside records using the hourly outside editor. The usual way to open the editor is to click New Hourly Outside or Edit in the View section of Coding Definitions | Work Orders | Labor | Hourly Outside.

The hourly outside editor window contains the following:

Code: A code to identify this record. No two records may have the same code.

Description: A description of what the record covers.

Vendor: The vendor who supplied the labor. This vendor should already exist in your vendors table. For more information, see Vendors.

Trade: A trade classification for the contractor. This trade should already exist in your trades table. For more information, see Trades.

Cost: The contractor's hourly rate.

Order Line Text: What should be written on a purchase order when ordering hourly work from this contractor.

Vendor Accounts Payable Cost Center: A read-only field giving the cost center to which this labor expense should be charged. This information is taken from the vendor record. For more on cost centers, see Cost Centers.

Comments: Any comments you want to associate with this contractor.

Save: Saves the current record. The editor window stays open in case you want to make more changes to the same record.

Save & New: Saves the current record and sets up the window for you to enter a new record. Fields in the new record will be blank or set to default values.

Save & Close: Saves the current record and closes the editor window.

Cancel: Closes the window without saving any changes you've made to the record since the last time you saved. When you Save the record, the Cancel button changes to Close, indicating that you can safely close the window without losing any changes.

Close: Closes the window. This button only appears after you've saved changes with Save or before you've entered any data at all. Otherwise, the button is labeled Cancel.

For more on hourly outside records, see Hourly Outside. For more on reports in general, see Reports.

< Previous section  |  Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Next section >