Editing Employee Records

This help file applies to an out-of-date version of MainBoss.
The most recent version of MainBoss is MainBoss 4.2.2.
For the latest version of this help file can be found here.

< Previous section  |  Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Next section >

You create or modify employee records using the employee editor. The usual way to open the editor is to click New Employee or Edit in the View section of Coding Definitions | Work Orders | Labor | Employees.

The employee editor window contains the following:

Details section: Shows basic information for the record.

Contact: A record in the contacts table giving contact information for the employee. You must create the contact record before you can create the employee record. For more on contacts, see Contacts. (Once you specify a contact record, MainBoss displays the person's phone number and email address in read-only fields.)

Description: Typically the employee's name.

Comments: Any comments you want to associate with the employee.

Hourly Inside section: Shows any hourly inside rates associated with the selected employee. Before you can record any entries in this list, you must Save the employee record. For more on hourly inside records, see Hourly Inside.

Per Job Inside section: Shows any per job inside rates associated with the selected employee. Before you can record any entries in this list, you must Save the employee record. For more on per job inside records, see Per Job Inside.

Save: Saves the current record. The editor window stays open in case you want to make more changes to the same record.

Save & New: Saves the current record and sets up the window for you to enter a new record. Fields in the new record will be blank or set to default values.

Save & Close: Saves the current record and closes the editor window.

Cancel: Closes the window without saving any changes you've made to the record since the last time you saved. When you Save the record, the Cancel button changes to Close, indicating that you can safely close the window without losing any changes.

Close: Closes the window. This button only appears after you've saved changes with Save or before you've entered any data at all. Otherwise, the button is labeled Cancel.

For more on employees, see Employees. For more on viewing employee records, see Viewing Employee Records. For more on editors in general, see Using Editors.

< Previous section  |  Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Next section >