Corrections of Actual Hourly Outside (with PO)

This help file applies to an out-of-date version of MainBoss.
The most recent version of MainBoss is MainBoss 4.2.2.
For the latest version of this help file can be found here.

< Previous section  |  Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Next section >

To correct an Actual Hourly Outside (with PO) record, you start in the Outside subsection of the Resources section of the work order. Select the demand corresponding to the Actual Hourly Outside you want to correct. Click Edit to open the Demand Hourly Outside record. Go to the Actuals section of that record, click on the Actual Hourly Outside entry you want to correct, then click Correct. This opens a window where you can correct the record:

Entry Date: A read-only field giving the date that this record was created.

Effective Date: The date/time when the work was done.

User Contact: A read-only field giving your name. This will appear in MainBoss's accounting history to show who made the correction.

Read-only fields: Provide information relevant to the job. This includes the purchase order number, work order number, and the amount of time remaining to be accounted for.

Use order remaining quantity: If you checkmark this box, MainBoss completes the record to indicate that you used the time listed under "Order Remaining". If you leave the box blank, you will have to fill in this information yourself.

Hours: Corrects the hours actually spent on the work. Typically, you fill in the "As Corrected" field with the actual hours—the correct number, as opposed to what you originally recorded. The alternative is to fill in "This Entry" with the difference between the hours you originally entered and the true amount.

For example, suppose you really used 3:00 but you accidentally typed 1:00 in the original record. You could fill in "As Corrected" with 3:00 (the correct time) or fill in "This Entry" with 2:00 (the difference between what you originally typed and the true amount). "This Entry" may be a negative number if you originally typed in too much.

If you fill in "As Corrected", MainBoss automatically sets "This Entry" and vice versa.

Calculated Remaining Order Cost: Read-only fields giving the expected cost of the corrected quantity. The "Hourly Rate" column gives the cost per hour and the "Total Cost" column gives the total cost.

Demanded, Demanded Cost: The estimated hours and cost stated in the original demand.

Manually Enter Cost: If you select this option, you must enter the actual cost of the labor in "This Entry" or "As Corrected".

Use calculated labor cost: If you select this option, the costs in "This Entry" and "As Corrected" will be set using the labor cost given in the original hourly outside record.

Use demanded cost: If you select this option, the costs in "This Entry" and "As Corrected" will be set using the labor cost given in the original estimated demand.

This Entry, As Corrected: Corrects the actual cost (if necessary). Typically, you fill in "As Corrected" with the correct cost of the correct number of hours. The alternative is to fill in "This Entry" with the difference between the cost you originally entered and the true cost.

If you fill in "As Corrected", MainBoss automatically sets "This Entry" and vice versa.

From Cost Center, To Cost Center: Read-only fields telling the cost centers involved in this operation. MainBoss creates accounting records indicating the transfer of money from the first cost center to the second. These fields are only visible if your database has an Accounting license key. For more, see Accounting Facilities.

Save: Saves the current record. The editor window stays open in case you want to make more changes to the same record.

Save & New: Saves the current record and sets up the window for you to enter a new record. Fields in the new record will be blank or set to default values.

Save & Close: Saves the current record and closes the editor window.

Cancel: Closes the window without saving any changes you've made to the record since the last time you saved. When you Save the record, the Cancel button changes to Close, indicating that you can safely close the window without losing any changes.

Close: Closes the window. This button only appears after you've saved changes with Save or before you've entered any data at all. Otherwise, the button is labeled Cancel.

For more on actual hourly outside (with PO) records, see Actual Hourly Outside (with PO). For more on resources, see Resources. For more on work orders, see Work Orders. For more on editors in general, see Using Editors.

< Previous section  |  Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Next section >