Changing Organization Information

This help file applies to an out-of-date version of MainBoss.
The most recent version of MainBoss is MainBoss 4.2.2.
For the latest version of this help file can be found here.

< Previous section  |  Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Next section >

You can change information about an existing organization database by clicking Edit Organization in the Maintenance Organization window (see Your Maintenance Organization List). For example, if your organization changes the location of your MainBoss database, you must change the corresponding information in your Maintenance Organization list.

When you click Edit Organization, MainBoss opens a window where you can specify database information:

Database Server: The network location of the SQL Server through which you will access the database. This must be the server that now manages the database.

If you click the accompanying "..." button, MainBoss displays a list of database servers that are known to your Windows system. There may be additional servers that you can use but that Windows doesn't currently know about. For more, see The Database Server List.

Database Name: The name of the database, as known to the SQL Server. This must be the name that SQL Server uses to refer to the database.

Organization Name: The name you wish to associate with the maintenance organization database. This is your own private name for the database; you can change "Organization Name" any time you like.

Make browsers smaller by not showing details for selected record by default: If you checkmark this box, MainBoss will automatically hide the details panel when displaying tables in this database. For more, see Hiding the Details for a Selected Record. Note that you can still ask MainBoss to display the details panel for a particular table by pressing the button for displaying details.

Preferred Mode: The default mode in which this database should be opened. If you do not specify a mode explicitly, the database will be opened in the given mode. For more on modes, see Your Maintenance Organization List.

OK: Makes the changes you have entered.

Cancel: Closes the window without making changes.

< Previous section  |  Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Next section >